Jewish Historical Society of Delaware Annual Meeting Minutes April 30, 2023

Welcoming remarks

Diane Wolf welcomed the attendees and called the meeting to order at 2:10.

Diane remarked that the board has been holding meetings via Zoom and this is the first time during her presidency that members have met in person. She also noted that the virtual meetings have made it possible to have board members who are not local. We now have members from all three Delaware counties.

Attendees were encouraged to stay up to date with JHSD through our newsletters and website. Diane shared the latest news: we learned that we will be receiving a \$10,000 grant from Delaware Humanities.

Diane recognized the passing of three of our past presidents during 2022: Jacqueline Berger, Stanley Budner, and Hon. Charles Keil. She expressed gratitude for their contributions to the Delaware Jewish community.

Next, Diane recognized our archivist, Gail Pietrzyk, for her 20 years of hard work on behalf of the JHSD.

Finally, Diane introduced the interns who were able to join the meeting. She thanked them for their work and expressed her gratitude for the intern programs that support their work with our organization.

Approval of Minutes

There was a motion to approve the minutes of the 2022 Annual Meeting as posted on our website. The minutes were unanimously approved as written.

Treasurer's Report

Paula Gordon, was unable to attend the meeting, but a copy of her report was provided to everyone present. Don Parsons acknowledged her work as treasurer and reviewed the handout, highlighting the revenue and expenses. He spoke about the importance of the Coxe House to the organization. Don recognized Richard Levin for his work in helping to create the Endowment Fund to pay for the operating costs of the Coxe House. The fund is currently over \$200,000. Don acknowledged the Minyanaires who contributed to the Endowment Fund and noted that they were listed on the back of the Treasurer's report.

Election of Board Members

Gerald Resnick reported on the work of the Nominating committee. He thanked the three members leaving the board: Tina Heiman, Ron Riebman, and Robin Silver-Zink. He presented the slate of board members which includes twelve members who are currently on the board: Dr. Harriet Ainbinder, John Elzufon, Paula Gordon, Roger Horowitz, Michael Joseph, Paul Lukoff, Hon. Donald Parsons, Jr., Charles Salkin, Robin Kauffman Saran, David Wilk, Diane Wolf, and Peter Zoll, and two new nominees: Hon. Robert Coonin and Michael Lundy.

Eligible members of the JHSD were asked to vote to approve the slate of board members. There were no objections to the slate presented.

Adjournment

Diane concluded the business meeting by asking the board to join her for an additional brief meeting after the program. The meeting was adjourned at 2:25.

Program

The business meeting was followed by a program presented by Polly Zavadivker. Dr. Zavadivker is the Director of the Frank and Yetta Chaiken Center for Jewish Studies and an Assistant Professor of History at the University of Delaware. She spoke on the topic: Jewish Studies at the University of Delaware: Our past, present, and future. Respectfully submitted, Robin Silver-Zink Secretary